Remember: lyrics about loss

memorial day

Today was Memorial Day. Technically it is a day to remember war veterans, but for many people it has also become a day to remember all lost loved ones. So my theme for today is “Remember.” Below are lyrics to several songs including songs from Whitney Houston and Michael Jackson.

 

Sorry I never told you
All I wanted to say
And now it’s too late to hold you
‘Cause you’ve flown away, so far away…
Never had I imagined
Living without your smile
Feeling and knowing you hear me
It keeps me alive
And I know you’re shining down on me from heaven
Like so many friends we’ve lost along the way
And I know eventually we’ll be together
One sweet day
Darling I never showed you

Assumed you’d always be there
Took your presence for granted  mariah carey one sweet day
But I always cared
And I missed the love we shared
Although the sun will never shine the same
I’ll always look to a brighter day
Lord I know when I lay me down to sleep
You will always listen as I pray
(Mariah Carey and Boyz II Men)

 
~Every step I take~Every move I make
~Every single day~Every time I pray
~I’ll be missing you~
~Thinkin’ of the days~When you went away
~What a life to take~What a bond to break
~I’ll be missing you~
P Diddy, 112, and Faith Evans (originally by The Police)

 

(Remembering Whitney…)
I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter Remind Us how we used to be…

witneyhouston

(Remembering Michael Jackson…)
Do you Remember the time
When we fell in love
Do you Remember the time
When we first met…


You are not alone
I am here with you
Though you’re far away
I am here to stay…

michael jackson

I really love the lyrics of ‘You Are Not Alone’, the lyrics and the whole song are just beautifully done, makes me want to cry- the sadness is conveyed so well I can actually feel it anytime I hear that song. Gives me chills. The same with ‘One Sweet Day’. The passion in that song is amazing also.
(*sigh* Love music.)

*******

Leave a Reply

