Terrible Itch For Solitude: quotes and lyrics about being alone

Ever had one of those days where you just want to be ALONE?!
I really need my alone time, I can be a beast if deprived of it for too long.

Quotes about being alone…

I want to know if you can be alone with yourself and if you truly like the company you keep in the empty moments.”
Oriah Mountain Dreamer, The Invitation

“… loneliness is something I’ve never been bothered with because I’ve always had this terrible itch for solitude… Charles Bukowski

“……I think if you don’t leave me alone, I can scream…..”
A. Carter, Cross My Heart and Hope to Sky

“……her spirits wanted the solitude and silence which only numbers could give…”
Jane Austen, Persuasion

“……neither [his] feelings, nor anybody’s feelings, could interest her, till she had better arranged her own. She was ashamed of herself, quite ashamed of being so [irritable], so overcome by such a trifle; but it was so; and it required a long application of solitude and reflection to recover herself.”
Jane Austen, Persuasion

“I know right now you need to be alone with your thoughts….. Alone. Alone, alone, alone!”
Jerry Maguire

There are worse things than being alone but it often takes seveal decades to realize this and most often when you do it’s too late, and there’s nothing worse than too late.”
Charles Bukowski
(I totally agree! There’s nothing worse than too late. I’m glad I know already that being alone isn’t so bad. Sometimes it’s preferred, sometimes it’s necessary. I’m glad I can enjoy my own company- one less thing I have to learn how to do. And I have personally observed that being able to enjoy your own company can keep you out of trouble!)

When I grow up and get married I’m going to live alone!”
Home Alone

 Lyrics about being alone…

I walk a lonely road~The only one that I have ever known~Don’t know where it goes~But it’s home to me and I walk alone~I walk this empty street on The Boulevard of Broken Dreams~Where the city sleeps~And I’m the only one and I walk alone~My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me~My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating~Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me~’Til then I walk alone…
Green Day, Boulevard of Broken Dreams

I need some shelter of my own protection~To be with myself and center~ Clarity, Peace, Serenity~I hope you know that this has nothing to do with you~It’s personal, Myself and I- We’ve got some straightenin’ out to do.
Fergie, Big Girls Don’t Cry

It’s just one of them days, when I wanna be all alone
It’s just one of them days, don’t take it personal
I just wanna be all alone, [I don’t mean to] treat you wrong
I wanna take some time out to think things through
I know it always feels like I’m doing you wrong, but I’m so in love with you.
Just one of them days that a girl goes through
When I’m angry inside- don’t wanna take it out on you
Just one of them days
Don’t take it personal
I just wanna be all alone, [I don’t mean to] treat you wrong

Monica, Don’t Take It Personal

Leave a Reply

