Lyrics for thought: Can you love my Dark Side?

Just heard Kelly Clarkson’s song, Dark Side, a few days ago. I can really relate to this song right now- now more than ever. As I was hearing those lyrics for the first time I felt so exposed! As though someone had litteraly read my mind.  I really couldn’t believe it- the lyrics mirrored my own thoughts so thoroughly.

And how many people had the same experience? Millions, I’m sure. We worry that our dark side is going to scare off the ones we love and need the most. We also worry that their dark side might be too much for us.  Sometimes we can’t handle our own dark side…
Will you love my dark side? Is this asking too much? Will you love ME, despite my dark side?  Is this more realistic?
Every story is different- every ending, and every beginning.
Good job to Kelly for putting this out there.   

There’s a place that I know
It’s not pretty there and few have ever gone
If I show it to you now
Will it make you run away? Or will you stay?
Even if it hurts~ Even if I try to push you out?
Will you return? And remind me who I really am~
Please remind me who I really am~

Everybody’s got a dark side
Do you love me?
Can you love mine?
Nobody’s a picture perfect~But we’re worth it
You know that we’re worth it~
Will you love me?
Even with my dark side?
Like a diamond
From black dust
It’s hard to know It can become
A few give up- So don’t give up on me
Please remind me who I really am~
Everybody’s got a dark side
Do you love me?
Can you love mine?
Nobody’s a picture perfect~ But we’re worth it
You know that we’re worth it~
Will you love me?
Even with my dark side?
Don’t run away~ Don’t run away~
Just tell me that you will stay
Promise me you will stay
Don’t run away~ Don’t run away~
Just promise me you will stay
Promise me you will stay
Will you love me?
Everybody’s got a dark side
Do you love me?
Can you love mine?
Nobody’s a picture perfect~ But we’re worth it
You know that we’re worth it~
Will you love me?
Even with my dark side?

3 thoughts on “Lyrics for thought: Can you love my Dark Side?

  1. You can also check out this same topic on another blog, azurinebattlequeen. There will be a post with the same title (soon to be posted) which goes into more depth and is more specific and personal.

  2. But the bad or annoying character trades are what makes us whole, we would be different without them. The ones who love us must learn to accept them, if they think it’s worth it. Just as we have to accept the “dark sides” of the people we love.

    • Absolutely. The key is “we’re worth it.” My husband, so thankfully, recently let me know that I’m “worth it” to him. ( : And I know I’ve conveyed the same to my closest friends throughout the years.

Leave a Reply

