Ocean’s Daughter, Star of the Sea

Earlier this month, before I had given Memorial Day any thought at all, other things were coming to mind- mostly words starting with, or containing, the letter ‘M’. My train of thought throughout the month has been something like this: May–> Mary’s Month (Catholic)–> Mother’s Day–> mom–> grandma–> Marie–> Mary–> Maria–> etymology–> Latin: mare, meaning sea–> Mary, Star of the Sea–> ocean–> water–> Ocean’s Daughter–> mermaid–> Train–> Bruno Mars–> Venus.

I was going to use all of that for a Mother’s Day post but I ran out of time. Since I had done a Memorial Day post last year I thought I should do one this year too. I thought about my grandma but decided I didn’t want to post about loss again. So I tried to think of what else Memorial Day brings to mind. . . 3-day weekend, cookouts, barbeques, parades, pools, swimming…

Water. Ocean’s Daughter. Venus. Sea. Star of the Sea. Mary.

And so I’ve ended up right back where I started.

My grandma’s middle name was Marie, the French version of Mary. My grandma saved my life- the story of this will have to be told some other time. If my grandma were here to read this she would probably shake her head, but she would smile too. And I’m pretty sure some of what’s to follow would have made her blush, and she probably would have asked me, “Have you been sipping champagne?”  ( ;

This random, eclectic post doesn’t have much to do with Memorial Day, but here it is nonetheless.

May Magnificat

May is Mary’s month, and I
Muse at that and wonder why:
Her feasts follow reason,
Dated due to season—
Candlemas, Lady Day;
But the Lady Month, May,
Why fasten that upon her,
With a feasting in her honour?

our lady star of the seaAsk of her, the mighty mother:
Her reply puts this other
Question: What is Spring?—
Growth in every thing—
All things rising, all things sizing
Mary sees, sympathising
With that world of good,
Nature’s motherhood.
Well but there was more than this:
Spring’s universal bliss
Much, had much to say
To offering Mary May.
(Fr. Gerard Hopkins )

*******

Hail, Queen of Heaven, the Ocean Star

Hail, Queen of Heaven, the Ocean Star
Guide of the wanderer here below,
Thrown on life’s surge, we claim thy care,
Save us from peril and from woe.
*
Mother of Christ, Star of the sea
Pray for the wanderer, pray for me.

Refuge in grief, Star of the sea
Pray for the mourner, pray for me.

Do thou, Bright Queen, Star of the sea,
Pray for thy children, pray for me.
(Fr. John Lingard)

“The Goddess who was sprung from the dark-blue depths of the sea and was nurtured by the foam from the frothing waves.” (Apuleius, Metamorphoses)

“. . .the foam got a mind and made the water shape itself into a selfperfected birth, bringing forth [Venus] from the sea.” (Nonnus, Dionysiaca)

venus

“Beauty in the water, Angel on the beach,
Ocean’s Daughter, I thought love was out of reach…”
(Train, Mermaid)

Swimming in your water is something spiritual,
I’m born again every time you spend the night.”
(Bruno Mars, Locked Out of Heaven)

“Only the united beat of sex and heart together can create ecstacy.”
(Anais Nin, Delta of Venus)                                                                                              

“I had a feeling that Pandora’s box contained the mysteries of woman’s sensuality, so different from a man’s and for which man’s language was so inadequate. The language of sex had yet to be invented. The language of the senses was yet to be explored.”
(Anais Nin, Delta of Venus)

“Venus of Willendorf carries her cave with her.  She is blind, masked. . .  Her facelessness is the impersonality of primitive sex and religion. Venus of Willendorf is eyeless because nature can be seen but not known. She is the cloud of archaic night.”
(Camille Paglia, Sexual Personae: Art and Decadence from Nefertiti to Emily Dickinson)

Venus of Willendorf

Venus of Willendorf

Leave a Reply

