A laugh is 10 times more powerful than a scream

monsters inc

Monsters University will be in theaters in just a few days, and I will be taking my kids to see it. I’m actually pretty excited. I love taking my kids to the movies and I really liked Monster Inc so I’m looking forward to this prequel. I have very fond memories of Monsters Inc. We have it on DVD and when my son was the ages of 3 and 4 he watched it over and over and over…. Like Alanis Morisette sang in her song You Learn- “Wear it out, the way a 3-year-old would do.”

There was a line in Monsters Inc that really stood out to me and has stuck with me ever since:

A laugh is ten times more powerful than a scream.”
*

Quotes and lyrics about laughter:

I love to laugh
Loud and long and clear
I love to laugh
It’s getting worse every year

The more I laugh, the more I fill with glee
And the more the glee, the more I’m a merrier me!

When things strike me as funny
I can’t hold it inside,                                                      i love to laugh
And squeak as the squeakelers do
I’ve got to let go with a “Ho ho ho”
And a “Ha ha ha” too!

We love to laugh
Loud and long and clear
We love to laugh
So everybody can hear

The more you laugh, the more you fill with glee
And the more the glee, the more we’re a merrier we.
(I Love to Laugh, written by Richard and Robert Sherman for Disney’s Mary Poppins)

*

“I’d better explain, I think,” Mr. Wigg went on calmly. “You see, it’s this way. I’m a cheerful sort of man and very disposed to laughter. You wouldn’t believe. . . the number of things that strike me as being funny. I can laugh at pretty nearly everything, I can.”
And with that Mr. Wigg began to bob up and down, shaking with laughter at the thought of his own cheerfulness.
“Uncle Albert!” said Mary Poppins. . .
“Oh, beg pardon, my dear. Where was I? Oh, yes. Well, the funny thing about me is that whenever my birthday falls on a Friday, well, it’s all up with me. Absolutely U.P.,” said Mr. Wigg. . . “Well, you see, if I laugh on that particular day I become so filled with Laughing Gas that I simply can’t keep on the ground. Even if I smile it happens. The first funny thought, and I’m up like a balloon. And until I can think of something serious I can’t get down again.”
(P. L. Travers, Mary Poppins)
*

“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person.”
(Audrey Hepburn)
*
Ron: “Fred reckons people need a laugh these days.”
Harry: “I reckon he’s right.”
(Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince)
*
“Remember laughing? Laughing enhances the blood flow
Laughter releases endorphins and other natural mood enhancing and pain killing chemicals
Laughter boosts the immune system
Being happy is the best cure of all.”
(Patch Adams)

 

“He knows that you have to laugh at the things that hurt you just to keep yourself in balance…
Man, when you lose your laugh you lose your footing.”
(Ken Kesey, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest)

And I just want to sink into your crazy laughter
Come on make me feel until the pain don’t matter
(Krewell, Alive)
*
“If you’re going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter.”
(Charles Bukowski, Factorum)
*
“Mr.Wigg began to laugh again loudly, and as he laughed he went bouncing and bobbing about in the air. . . He looked so comic, floundering in the air like a great human bubble. . .  Jane and Michael, though they were trying hard to be polite, just couldn’t help what they did. They laughed. And they laughed. They shut their mouths tight to prevent the laughter escaping, but that didn’t do any good. And presently they were rolling over and over on the floor, squealing and shreiking with laughter.
“Really!” said Mary Poppins. “Really, such behaviour!”
“I can’t help it, I can’t help it!” shrieked Michael. . .  “It’s so terribly funny. Oh, Jane, isn’t it funny?”
*
Jane did not reply, for a curious thing was happening to her. As she laughed she felt herself growing lighter and lighter, just as though she were being pumped full of air. It was a curious and delicious feeling and it made her want to laugh all the more.  And then suddenly, with a bouncing bound, she felt herself jumping through the air. . . .
Well! ” said Mr. Wigg, looking very surprised indeed. “Don’t tell me it’s your birthday, too?” Jane shook her head. “It’s not? Then this Laughing Gas must be catching!”
(P. L. Travers, Mary Poppins)

*
*laughy face

One thought on “A laugh is 10 times more powerful than a scream

  1. Pingback: Jokeulous! That Daily Prompt Show! | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

