6 years: writings on love and marriage

white rose

Today, June 30th, is my wedding anniversary. We’ve been married 6 years. We’re doing good, our relationship is strong, and we’re still in love! We wrote our own vows and so the following verses are what my husband wrote for me and recited during the ceremony. Following that is an exerpt from Khalil Gibran’s The Prophet which was also part of the ceremony.
*

(Yes I am really this lucky to have married a man who wrote this for me.)
When I spend time with god,

I ask to be blessed.
I look up, and You’re there.
When I talk to god,
I ask Her to guide me
and to direct my steps.
I open my eyes and see You.
When I pray to god,
I ask Him to bring someone
to me that I can be of service to.
I turn around, and there You are.
When me and god hang out,
I ask to be protected
and kept far from evil.
I look up and see You there.
You are my Planet,
my Home
and Place of Peace
when this world weighs me down.
You are my Moon,
lighting the darkness
just enough to stay on course.
We’re similar enough
that we can grow together
to become better friends, better parents,                         sun and moon
better students of life.
And we’re different enough                                              
that You help me to see
what I can’t see on my own,
to understand what I can’t discern for        
myself.
There’s no way we can
be sure what god has
planned for each of us.
But I do know, today,
You are my blessing.
And for that,
I commit to keep You,
to be the Sun that lights
Your own journey,
to be Your friend,
Your Home,
Your Place of Peace.

On Marriage
(Khalil Gibran, The Prophet)

*
You were born together, and together you shall be forevermore.
You shall be together when the white wings of death scatter your days.
Ay, you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.
But let there be spaces in your togetherness, and let the winds of the heavens dance between you.
*
Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each others cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone;
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.
*
Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping,
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
Stand together yet not too near together,
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
and the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

 

*

Leave a Reply

