Quotes about Fall and what I’ve been up to

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve posted. It’s not that I didn’t think about it, because I did. Often. I even wrote a few drafts, but . . . I don’t know what happened. I think I chickened out a few times, or let small stuff get in the way. Also, I was at home with my kids (and all the neighborhood kids too) the whole summer. Being with the kids all day like that has its pros and cons. Some days I was really glad to be able to spend that time with them, but other days I felt trapped. So as for the blog, I was a bit unmotivated for 2 to 3 months solid. Even though I try to keep my posts simple they too often end up being more time consuming than I anticipate, and when I’m working on a post I hate to be interrupted so if I think I’m going to be interrupted then I won’t even start. Being at home with the kids this summer- there was  no way I wouldn’t be interrupted. Therefore, my blog was completely neglected.

Now, however, I have the whole day to myself. From 9 am until 3:15 pm I am free.
Woooohoooo!
From whence (you may wonder) does this new freedom hail?
Well, my daughter is now in 1st grade so she is finally in school full-time.

And what have I done with my new freedom?- laundry, dishes, cooking, grocery shopping, meeting teachers, emailing teachers, and helping with homework. I’ve also done some napping and reading too. Oh, and I sewed up some holes in the trampoline net with fishing line (true story) and cleaned the gunk off the kitchen blinds. I even mopped the floor.

But this blog is always on my mind- even more so now that I know I really do have the time for it. There are no more excuses. My original plan this morning was to do the dishes and continue to attempt to make a dent in the laundry, and then work on my blog. But I decided to put the blog first, because if I don’t then it will never happen . . .

autumn halloween

It’s October. I love October. I love fall. I love everything about it- the fresh scent in the air, the colors of the changing leaves, caramel apples, pumpkin pie, coffee, cocoa, tea, Halloween, football, and bonfires. The humidity finally goes away, the temperature drops, and I can get out my coats and boots that I love. My hair looks good, my skin looks good. Cooler weather really agrees with me. The fall is inspiring and magical. In the fall Nature really makes her presence known. The wind blows, the rain is cold, the air is chilled, the weather is unpredictable and sporadic, there are colors everywhere, and the scent of the air is incredible. You have to pay attention.

 

wallko.com

wallko.com

Ugh! I’m having trouble saying what I feel. Fall gives me a very specific, somewhat intense feeling. I can’t find the right words, I’m afraid I’ll end up sounding overly dramatic and insincere.
So here would be a good place to insert some quotes.
Some quotes about fall to help convey my feelings regarding it:

 

. . . but it’s the good kind of ache, like the feeling you get on the first real day of autumn, when the air is crisp and the leaves are all flaring at the edges and the wind smells just vaguely of smoke – like the end and the beginning of something all at once.
Lauren Oliver, Delirium

. . . autumn, the one season of the year that God seemed to have put there just for the beauty of it.
Lee Maynard

Someday, I would like to go home. The exact location of this place, I don’t know, but someday I would like to go. There would be a pleasing feeling of familiarity and a sense of welcome in everything I saw. . Autumn would come to this place of welcome, this place I would know to be home. Autumn would come and the air would grow cool, dry and magic, as it does that time of the year. . .  The trees and the falling leaves would welcome me.
Henry Rollins

foxarchive.com

foxarchive.com

At no other time (than autumn) does the earth let itself be inhaled in one smell, the ripe earth; in a smell that is in no way inferior to the smell of the sea, bitter where it borders on taste, and more honeysweet where you feel it touching the first sounds. Containing depth within itself, darkness, something of the grave almost.
Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters On Cezanne

Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting, and autumn a mosaic of them all.
Stanley Horowitz

The autumn leaves blew over the moonlit pavement . . . The trees overhead made a great sound of letting down their dry rain.
Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

I like best of all autumn, because its leaves are a little yellow, its tone mellower, its colours richer, and it is tinged a little with sorrow and a premonition of death. Its golden richness speaks not of the innocence of spring, nor of the power of summer, but of the mellowness and kindly wisdom of approaching age. It knows the limitations of life and is content. From a knowledge of those limitations and its richness of experience emerges a symphony of colours, richer than all, its green speaking of life and strength, its orange speaking of golden content and its purple of resignation and death.
Lin Yutang

Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.
Lauren DeStefano, Wither

happyholidays2014.com

happyholidays2014.com

 

I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.
L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

. . . fall: bright flame before winter’s deadness; harvest; orange, gold, amber; cool nights and the smell of fire. Our tree-lined streets are set ablaze, our kitchens filled with the smells of nostalgia . . .  cinnamon, nutmeg, cider, warmth itself. The leaves as they spark into wild color just before they die are the world’s oldest performance art . .
Shauna Niequist

Just the still melancholy that I love – that makes life and nature harmonise. The birds are consulting about their migrations, the trees are putting on the hectic or the pallid hues of decay, and begin to strew the ground, that one’s very footsteps may not disturb the repose of earth and air, while they give us a scent that is a perfect anodyne to the restless spirit. Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.
George Eliot

. . . autumn–that season of peculiar and inexhaustible influence on the mind of taste and tenderness–that season which has drawn from every poet worthy of being read some attempt at description, or some lines of feeling.
Jane Austen, Persuasion

 

Wow. Beautiful words. That’s how I feel about Fall.
*

While I’ve been cleaning and folding and cooking (and sometimes wandering the house somewhat dazed and aimless), I’ve been putting on Halloween-like movies and music for background noise: Corpse Bride, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Jane Eyre, and the soundtracks to the Harry Potter Movies.
This got me thinking that I’d like to find a book to read to further enhance the season for me. This post was going to be about finding such a book, but I think I’ll save that for my next post. 🙂

 

hdwallpapers-3d.com

hdwallpapers-3d.com

Leave a Reply

