Mondy Moon Post: The Snow Queen

hans christian anderson snow queen

“On they flew over woods and lakes, over seas, and many lands; and beneath them the chilling storm rushed fast, the wolves howled, the snow crackled; above them flew large screaming crows, but higher up appeared the moon, quite large and bright; and it was on it that Kay gazed during the long long winter’s night; while by day he slept at the feet of the Snow Queen.”

~
I know my last post (just a few days ago) was all about fall, and I plan to continue that theme, but for today I’m taking a Winter detour. . .

~
I am so tired. Deliriously tired. Last night I was having some anxiety issues. It’s just something that happens to me, I have an anxiety disorder. At 2:30 am I was still wide awake and my thoughts were growing increasingly dark and completely absurd. I was feeling more and more agitated, but not for any major reason. Sure, I had a few things on my mind, but we all do. Nothing bad had happened, yet my mind was running wild and I was so anxious I wished I could cry- I wanted a release. But I wasn’t feeling sad or hopeless, I was feeling irritated and angry. Finally I had to break down and take my anxiety medicine, and then I was able to sleep. I got only about 4 and half hours of sleep, maybe a little more, but that isn’t enough for me to feel ok so I’m feeling a little “fuzzy” right about now. I’m also feeling a bit anxious again- lack of sleep can do that.

I was thinking that maybe I would put on Frozen (Disney movie) to sooth myself and distract my thoughts while I go about doing the dishes and laundry today. Goodness knows the voices in my head should not be left to their own devices. . .
I have a lot of positive, happy associations with the movie Frozen. I saw it in the theater with my kids and my husband and his family. We were all surprised at how funny it was! My 6 year-old daughter loves the movie, of course. She has spent several afternoons with her 2 little friends watching (and singing along to) Frozen. Like so many other little girls my daughter and her friends know almost the whole movie by heart! It’s so cute to watch them singing along with Anna and Elsa!

But it’s not only these positive associations that would make Frozen a good back-ground companion for me today. There’s more. I sort of have a thing with snow and snowflakes. The snowflake has become my private personal “symbol.”
Some women like and collet hearts, dolphins, horses, lighthouses, crosses, etc. My maternal grandmother’s thing was hummingbirds and my paternal grandmother’s thing is angels. As I just mentioned, my thing is snow/snowflakes, and more recently this is, to an extent, developing into a Snow Queen thing. Many, many years ago my thing was butterflies, but tragedy occurred and the butterfly could no longer represent to me the strength and inspiration it once did. Now the symbol of a butterfly acts as reminder of a very painful time in my life and brings to mind only naiveté, regrets, and weakness. A butterfly is very fragile, its wings too easily broken.

But the symbol of a Snow Queen?
A queen with the mysterious, magical ability to create and control snow and ice?!
In the words of Margaret Atwood- “What power, what untold possibilities!”

 Sometimes, there comes a time when “a woman has to move on to another kind of power.”

fanpop.com

fanpop.com

The snowflake has a spiritual meaning for me (long story), and a Snow Queen represents, for me, strength, power, imagination, and creativity. So for this Monday Moon Post I was hoping to find Snow-Queen-moon-quotes, but this was next to impossible considering the short amount of time I have. I did a little research online but found very few quotes that combine, in any way, ‘moon’ and ‘snow queen.’ (The few I found are at the top and very bottom of this post.)
However, what I discovered during my brief research was that certain quotes, when taken out of their particular context, could be applied to both Moon and Snow Queen.

~

. . . there is something deeply spiritual about her pale glow . . . She wears a new dress every evening, yet she is always herself.
Stephanie Perkins, Lola and the Boy Next Door

Her beauty is superhuman, for in it are realized all the impossible and chimerical attributes that poets are accustomed to give their fair ones.
Miguel de Cervantes

Her skin was paler than before
Blue, white and shining
She smiled, knew what she was looking for
The Snow Queen (poem by A Dark Lifetime on poemhunter.com)

A ruler-straight line divides her dark side from her light.
Stephanie Perkins, Lola and the Boy Next Door

Eventually, the veil would lift, the cold would yield to the sun’s warmth, and she would be reborn.
Nancy McKenzie, Guinevere’s Gamble

Fair as the Sea and the Sun and the Snow upon the Mountain!
J.R.R. Tolkien

Although she was surrounded by myriads of tiny, sparkly stars, she felt as if there was no one to understand her. She eagerly searched the skies for a friend . . with whom to discuss the joys and sorrows of her life. But there was nobody.
The Romance of the Sun and the Moon (crystalrivers.com)

I conjure a cold light that glows within the thick walls without melting the ice.
Vicki Weavil, Crown of Ice

I can give her no greater power than she has already . . .
How men and animals are obliged to serve her . . .
She cannot receive any power from me greater than she now has, which consists in her own purity . . .
Hans Christian Anderson, The Snow Queen

Outside, the Snow Queen was mistily white in the moonshine. .
L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

art by Marisela Cabrera (gopixpic.com)

art by Marisela Cabrera
(gopixpic.com)

Leave a Reply

